St Paul's Evangelical Lutheran Church
930 Harding Memorial Parkway  Marion, Ohio 43302-6314

Back to Main Page

The Vernon E. and Hester B. Horst Scholarship

Vernon E. and Hester B. Horst
Hester B. and Vernon E. Horst
About the Horsts: Vernon E. and Hester B. were members of St. Paul's Evangelical Lutheran Church in Marion, Ohio for over 50 years.  They joined the church when it was still at the corner of Windsor and Bellefontaine Streets.  They lived on a farm in Marengo, Ohio.

Vernon bequeathed the funds for the stained glass windows in the north entrance of the church in honor of his wife when she passed away.  Mr. Horst passed away in July of 2000 at the age of 97.
Upon his death, Vernon's estate instructed that a sum of money be given to St. Paul's to be used to provide for scholarships to deserving students residing in Marion County.  The funds were invested in 2003 and applications were first taken in 2004.  The original committee members were; John Wilk, Denise Sayers, Bob MacKay, Art Huggler, Jim Ruth, Helen Scowden, and Joyce Milner.  Today the committee consists of; Larry Laird, Chairman, Denise Sayers, Mike Perry, Dianna Schweinfurth, and Jackie Smith.

Applications for the 2018 awards are available on-line on this page by clicking the link at the bottom of the page. 2017 Applications are now closed.

The 2017 Award winners were Roberto Oswald and Allison Edwards.

Previous Award Winners

Christopher Williams Douglas Romshe Jonathon Edwards
Todd Isler Courtney Lust Selena Brown
Yvonne Osborn Amanda Duncan Jennifer Valentine
Michael Harris Jessica Brewer Alex Wolfe
Megan Glathart Bethany Bailey Roberto Oswald
Kendall Lust Cole Ryan Allison Edwards
Rachel Sayers Shelbi Turner  
2018 Horst Scholarship Application